Triggers

Standard

Maybe it’s just me but…

I don’t know when being passionate and caring has become something to be ashamed of?

Let me give you an example of what I mean.

I’m being an intern and it rocks my socks off. I’m just so happy with the job, cotent. I really like it and am truly passionate about it. In a few months I will learn whether the company will hire me or not. But I truly want to and I try my hardest. Did I mention I was passionate about it? So yeah.

While on the other hand my friend has been on an internship in another company. And she doesn’t really care. And she doesn’t even know whether she’d like to work where she’s at.

So during a meeting. She’s talking about her internship. and how maybe she’ll get the job cause she doesn’t care because to put it in her words “You get the things if you take them lightly and not care so much right?”.

And there was a collective nod of approval.

And that astounds me every time it happens. Because why being disconnected is something to approve?

I believe that success doesn’t come overnight. It may seem so when you look at the person who got there. But it must have taken the person a lot of work, passion and commitment (in various proportions depending on a person) to get where they are now. And I bet they had their moments of doubt. But I do not believe that they didn’t care about what they were striving for. That the author trying to publish a book didn’t get butterflies in his/her stomach everytime the phone rang because it might be a prospective publisher (I know I’m exaggerating a bit – just for impact).

 

But the thing is.

(Takes a deep breath.)

Everybody has the freedom to have their own attitude. They’re entitled to it.

But what I can learn from this story is the fact that a careless attitude of another is a trigger for me. I get anxious.

So I started digging a bit deeper. Because my emotions in this situation were telling me something. Instead for being all like “good for you with your attitude. If it works for you go ahead” I was taking it personally. As if I was being attacked by not having the proper attitude. Which I wasn’t.

Some time ago such a situation would get me into a frenzy.

But now I see that I have to sit with this feeling and uncover the trigger and what it evokes in me.

And then i need to:

Take a deep breath and Let Go.

In that simple moment I give myself permission to be authentic. To be me.

 

Leave a Reply

